gallery arcade itrader sponsors

Go Back   Reefer's Cafe > General Forums > Product Reviews

Product Reviews Reviews Of Various Equipment By Our Members.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Staff Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 3,286
Thumbs up Hydor Koralia 4 :: REVIEW

I've been using these power heads since I setup my new 180G tank 3 years ago. These things are just workhorses. They provide great flow and very low power consumption. At 1200 GPH they provide some serious water flow in my tank and having 6 in total makes for some interesting flow patterns that make my softies sway back and forth.

The original 6 pumps I've purchased are still in service as of this writing and only some were recently cleaned because the openings were completely covered in coralline algae and even some coral growths greatly decreasing their output (the algae and corals basically choked the pump).

I've written a short DIY Tutorial here on how to easily clean most pumps and other aquarium equipment.

http://www.reeferscafe.com/diy-do-yourself/5813-cleaning-pumps-powerheads-koralias-vortex-seio-etc.html

You can also see the amount of coralline growth these pumps had on them.

In the 3 years I've had them they've been working non stop without a hitch. One or two might have stopped after a power outage but a nudge with a finger on the impeller would start them right up.

I would recommend these efficient power heads to anybody starting up in the hobby as well as to advanced aquarists on a budget. With newer even more efficient models on the market there is a size for every tanks size out there.

Old models wore designations from nano to 1 through 4, the new series are called Evolution & Magnum. For much larger tanks (125G+), there are magnum 5,6,7 and 8 series, with the latest providing flow of up to 3200 GPH!!!. Now that is some serious current for your reef tank. For those needed the ultra high sophistication of a controllable output there are 12V controllable units that can be paired with a Hydor wave maker. These are more expensive so you have to weigh-in both pros and cons.

Hope this helps.
__________________
.
.
IMPORTANT: Please contact our sponsors for your supplies and livestock needs. Mention that you are from ReefersCafe to take advantage of special offers and discounts they might have at the time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Puffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydor koralia reviews, koralia 4 review, koralia nano, koralia power head


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydor Koralia SmartWave Controller :: REVIEW Puffer Product Reviews 1 05-07-2013 09:29 AM
Hydor Koralia Magnum 7 & 8 :: REVIEW Puffer Product Reviews 9 01-03-2013 02:03 PM
Hydor Koralia Arrg Equipment Discussion 24 09-10-2008 09:04 PM
hydor koralia 4 Casanova1016 Equipment Discussion 9 09-23-2007 10:25 AM
Hydor Koralia #4 Casanova1016 New To The Hobby 1 09-06-2007 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Reef Cleaners

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reefer's Cafe

FULL DISCLOSURE: ReefersCafe receives compensation from advertisers in exchange for ad placement on our website. This pays a fraction of our hosting expenses. Thank you for your support!!

Page generated in 0.05750 seconds with 16 queries